Vermont Texting While Driving Ban

No Texting In VermontVermont has become the latest state to sign into law a ban on texting while driving.

From Insurance Journal:

Gov. Jim Douglas signed the ban into law Tuesday at the Montpelier High School, joining at least 25 states that have banned the practice.

The measure also bans the use of cell phones and other electronic devices while driving for 16 and 17-year-old drivers

The penalty for sending or reading a text message is $100 for the first offense and $250 for all subsequent offenses within two years.

A federal ban for commercial truck and bus drivers has been in effect for months now, but more and more individual states are choosing to pass legislation for regular drivers. With a number of states also having banned cell phone use while driving completely we may be coming closer to national regulation for both. For now if you are traveling anywhere outside of Massachusetts your best bet is to do some research before you get in your car.

As always you can leave us a comment below, follow us on Twitter, or head over to Wolpert.com for anything else

Advertisements

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wolpertinsurance.wordpress.com/2010/06/08/vermont-texting-while-driving-ban/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: